top of page

Amandine Joannes

“These photographs are an extract from a series that I shot in New York between September and December 2014.

We never quit the state of childhood. Childhood is the scaffolding of all our fantasies and anxieties. It embodies where we come from, who we are and why. This child mould is imprisoned inside of us all our lives, and we have no control on it . My obsession is to grasp the essence of it. I failed my own childhood; I definitely lost it. I regret it, I fantasised it, I forgot about it."

My question is: what is it, for all the others, for all these children, I look at with strangeness. Does this idyllic state of childhood really exist?

It exists in parallel worlds by children, I try to capture the door of it, the way to this imaginary world to escape reality and to capture visually how this fantasy world is anchored in the ‘everyday reality’ and its spaces. I’m interested in home as well, how it builds itself and how it deconstructs itself.”

Archive
bottom of page