top of page

Robert Law- Seaside Shinto Temple

“I live in Wales, a country often portrayed in two photographic stereotypes: Impossibly beautiful land and seascapes, often shot at sunset, frequently digitally enhanced and ubiquitous in every form of media; or post-industrial documentary images.

My pursuit is to reveal the less obvious, day-to-day character of my homeland. I want to share observations that arouse curiosity and usher the viewer candidly into local secrets. I seek the more intimate and tangible: the land and seascapes when the tourists have left and the places where people live, challenged both economically and environmentally by the relentless Atlantic maritime climate. This is the alternative view and narrative that beckons to be seen and told. Film is my medium of choice. I feel it is essential in maintaining the honesty and integrity of my subject and recording intriguing images that I hope engage the viewer into visual questions on Welsh photographic stereotypes.”

“The stark, utilitarian design of this seaside shelter on the promenade in Llandudno appeals to my minimalist style of photography. An outline similar to that of a shinto temple in Japan, it is also reminiscent of Christopher Herwig’s series on Soviet bus stops in its design, function and patina.

It echoes the sounds and sights of a busy summer within its empty walls, waiting to be visited again.”

Website: www.wtgphoto.com

Instagram: @with_the_grain_photo

Facebook: /withthegrainphoto


Archive
bottom of page