top of page

Frances Stephenson- Pole Portraits

Mention pole dancing to the uninitiated and you’ll often conjure up a vision of seedy gentlemen’s bars and strip clubs.

Yet on a recent visit with my camera to ‘The Pole Station’ in Stafford, a local dance studio, I realised that pole dancing does not deserve to be associated with these negative connotations.

There is an undisputable ‘dance’ element to the movements of an accomplished pole dancer, and a high level of skill is required to mount the pole, hold a position and balance with grace.

I had been there to photograph the women taking part for a personal photography project.

I was interested in the dance element most of all. My goal had been to capture the dancers performing a variety of positions and some fast-paced action, and to experiment with different lighting setups.

The women leading and attending these classes do so primarily to enhance their own fitness and to enjoy an empowering, if slightly unconventional, form of exercise. What I loved was that there was a real sense of camaraderie among the women. All were having a great time, laughing and cheering each other on as they took it in turns to work on the pole.

The more experienced pole dancers were mesmerising to watch. They demonstrated a high level of skill, holding positions that required considerable core strength, agility and flexibility.

I thoroughly enjoyed photographing the pole dancers and am thrilled with the outcome of the portraits I captured.


Archive
bottom of page