top of page

Lucy Wainwright

I am studying an MA in art psychotherapy in Sheffield so I spend a lot of time reading and researching, and the rest of my week is spent looking after my kids, doing volunteer work in a palliative care setting and taking pictures - lots of pictures. The emulsions I choose are bright consumer colour films like Lomography and Superia, or slide films which I get cross-processed by my lab. Ektachrome EPD 200 is a favourite, but it is getting very rare now, and Provia and Sensia work well too. My cameras are characters! I get most use out of things like Dianas and Holgas and my Brownie Hawkeye'. I like backlight, and vignetting, and shooting for flare, and using magnifying lenses, and being dazzled. I'm really dazzled by the beautiful things. My pictures are sometimes abstract but always passionate. They show how looking at things feels.

I'm 100% a film photographer and 99% a colour film photographer. If I shoot with B&W it's likely to be infrared, x-ray or instant film or Washi or something else that has something unusual about it, and it's really rare for me to use ordinary B&W negative film.

Georgia O'Keeffe said, "I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn't say any other way... things I had no words for." This is true for me too.


Archive
bottom of page