top of page

Miriam Winsor- And Yet

I’m fascinated by the way we interact with our own inner selves, with each other and the world around us, and it’s this fascination that drives the explorations I make in my work. I use my artistic process to make sense of the world, as a means to interpret and gain clarity. I work with a variety of mediums, using digital, analogue and alternative photographic processes to examine themes of identity, family, nature and place.

And yet is a series of large-scale portraits using controlled light and shadow to reference classical painting styles.  The project elevates and invites respect of the subjects, all of whom have experienced and recovered from perinatal mental health difficulties.  Viewed together with copies of letters the women have written to their former selves, the series encourages a dialogue about the impacts of cultural, political and economic influences on maternal mental health and identity.

Twitter: @miriamwinsor


Archive
bottom of page