top of page

Samara Knight- origin

I am a recent Photography graduate of the University for the Creative Arts, Farnham

My artistic practice originates from a background of fine arts and painting, from which I have taken strong influences of materialistic and experimental aspects and applied to my photographic work. My practice is conceptually driven and influenced by a range of facets, stretching from the natural world, to the nature of photography and personal subject matters. I work predominantly with analogue processes as a reflection of the theoretical, mythological and intimate subjects which I address throughout my projects

I have explored the mythological narratives which surround Dartmoor, a landscape known for its historical and cultural presence. This unique landscape formed millions of years ago yet still shows the relics which formed its core. Many traces of human activity mark this land in the form of monuments from eras gone by, along with the scars left by industrial endeavours. The narrative I hope to portray is the striking, yet unforgiving nature of this place which is often illustrated in the fictions that surround it. Through placing truthful accounts of personal experiences within Dartmoor’s borders beside atmospheric imagery of mist descending, a sense of ambiguous tension is formed. I used analogue photography as a means of reflecting the longevity that is inherent in the landscape to capture a place of temporality, indexicality and elemental presence while considering photography’s inability to capture these traits.


Archive
bottom of page