top of page

Kendal Fewster - In Between

I am a freelance documentary photographer based in Edinburgh, Scotland. Through my studies at Edinburgh Napier University I have developed a passion for large format photography and the ways in which it can translate stories. I am passionate about traveling and telling stories which explore political, social and climate issue in both my commissioned and personal work. Despite my passion for travel, I understand the importance of exploring & showing issues close to home through my photography.

‘In Between’ explores the notions of division and isolation within communities caused by socioeconomic and demographic changes, as well as environmental transformations. The series focuses on the area of Pilton, Scotland which, despite its efforts at regeneration and gentrification, is still plagued by its negative stigma from the past due to a rivalry between its East and West subdivisions. Sitting between these two subdivisions is a community that does not associate itself with either side. In fact, this disassociation goes further as the community does not identify itself with Pilton at all. Despite being just a stone’s throw away from both the East & West, the community instead identifies itself with the main road that runs through the centre: Crewe Road North. Through exploring the relationships between nature and the built environment I highlight the physical and emotional partitions which separate the Crewe Road area from its East and Westerly neighbours.


Archive
bottom of page