top of page

Jade Fantom- Oxygen Is Underrated

I am currently a BA Hons Photography student at Nottingham Trent University, just finishing my second year. I have always struggled with what my aim in photography was as I was happy to try a bit of everything, from abstract portraits to sharp detailed landscapes. I suppose that it is good to experiment, but it becomes frustrating when you are in the middle of a degree still trying to find your focus, your deep interests... still trying to find yourself. This all changed when I started to create a book for my end of year book fair.

From as long as I can remember, I have had an overwhelming interest in the mysteries of space, life and our planet. Why are we here? What is our purpose? While thinking of how to incorporate a theme of landscapes and humanity into my photobook, I became fascinated with how a landscape photograph always displays a presence of humanity. Who made the paths we are walking on? Who cut the grass? Even in areas of remoteness where the sky merges effortlessly with the land, the photographer has already marked the photograph with vision and existence.

Titled Oxygen Is Underrated, my series of photographs explore the intricate details of nature and the landscape, making an effort to avoid any people and figures. But what about the obvious signs of our species upon the land, such as the fences and paths that have been put into place? I came to realise that perhaps it is impossible to look ahead of you and see land that has not been marked by humanity. After all, vision is as powerful as a footprint.

I am looking forward to exploring how photography can be influenced by the land and what the future of humanity may hold.


Archive
bottom of page