top of page

Joshua Dancause

Joshua Dancause is an artist and photographer born and raised in Laredo, TX. He is currently working on his MFA in Photography at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi where he received his BFA in studio art in 2013. His work uses archive and alternative processes to explore themes of identity and gender. Dancause’s images have been shown nationally at First Street Gallery in New York, Darkroom Gallery in Vermont, Buchanan Centre for the Arts in Illinois among others.

Growing up in South Texas

Difference is dealt with

I isolate myself

my masculinity challenged my

desire deviant

Neck, hands, veins

Engorged

Delicate flesh caressed

The binaries enforced

Made to feel, vulnerable, exposed

Fear

To confront them I tear myself apart

Images

I isolate my figures

They are different

I challenge their masculinity

Celebrating their deviance

The binaries collapse

Intimacy

Hiding, silent, ashamed… No

The door is now open

The violence welcome


Archive
bottom of page