top of page

David Rodríguez- Bathers

“My name is David Rodríguez and I am from Spain. From an early age, I have always been attracted to the art world, but my love for photography didn´t start until 2013, the year I bought my first reflex camera, and I began to explore my attraction to art.

Shortly afterwards, I began to train myself through several courses, and also in a self-taught way. While I was studying, I discovered new photographers.

One day, I discovered Guy Bourdin and a photograph that fascinated me enormously. In the picture, there was a girl under the water with her eyes and mouth open. I was enthralled with this image instantly, and this is how I came up with the idea for series Fresh. Then, I decided to do my shooting taking advantage of a summer day in which the sun was at its peak.”

"I like to photograph people, I feel very comfortable making portraits, but I always try to go a little further. That is the reason why I try to look for risky compositions, with a touch of surrealism. Works like those of Man Ray, Erwin Blumenfeld or Guy Bourdin inspire me immensely.

Each person inspires me a different sensation, so before I do the shooting, I imagine how I would like to portray him or her. Then, I create a concept and imagine a story. I do not like to get attached to reality. Instead, I like to transform it, challenging the model with unusual situations. I play with the model, making each session a culture encounter, but also an enriching and surprising experience for both of us. The use of the photography techniques I use, whether high speed, long exposure or others, is determined by the conceptual preconception I had in mind.

I am particularly interested in Pop Art, this translates through the square format in which my work takes, as if they were the cover of a vinyl record. In the future, I would like to explore the world of fashion photography.”

Bathers is inspired by Horst P. Horst’s photograph Bathers and comprises of a summers day in which we can see two bathers enjoying the sun and the sea.

This series is formed by a series of photographs of minimalist character, in which the simple compositions stand out, where blue and white are the predominant colours.

The bathers show sensual and elegant poses under a backdrop of surrealist air. The funds are simple to give greater prominence to the subjects that appear in the photographs.


Archive
bottom of page