top of page

Harry Flook- Beyond What Is Written

Photographer and writer working in Bristol. As online editor for Loupe magazine I both create and curate web content, alongside feature writing for Splash and Grab magazine online.

My photographic work explores subjects borne out of my own experience, a personal investment that has taken my projects in various directions. Leaving religion was the starting point for my most recent work, culminating in two projects that address the subject from differing perspectives: Beyond What is Written and Apostate.

Previously, I've explored more abstract ideas surrounding materiality and the increasingly blurred boundary between reality and our imagination. I’m currently revisiting this body of work, titled The Future of the Living.

Through a focus on individuals’ and their stories, my current project began as an exploration of my own experience leaving religion, and has culminated in a chaptered body of work that addresses the subject from differing perspectives. Previously, my work has explored more abstract ideas surrounding materiality and ever more blurred boundary between reality and our imagination.

“There is a strong divide between the conservative and liberal Christians in Tennessee, but the non religious community is so small that it is completely overlooked.” – Tad Beaty,

The project was created during a month spent photographing various non-religious communities in Tennessee; the ‘heart of the Bible Belt’.

Beyond What is Written is a section of the aforementioned body of work. I spent a month meeting and photographing various non-religious communities in Tennessee; the ‘heart of the Bible Belt’. The series explores the presence of religious imagery and rhetoric in notions of the American Dream, and the portraits picture a relationship defined by shared absence from religion. The project is about the loss and regaining of community, and the changing religious landscape in America.

Instagram: @harryflook


Archive
bottom of page